MINUTES ASIAN ART COMMISSION

4:00 p.m., Wednesday, January **18**, **2017**

Education Classrooms

200 Larkin Street, San Francisco, California

Commissioners Present: Akiko Yamazaki, Chair Alexandra Lenehan

Cori Bates Gorretti Lo Lui Alexander D. Calhoun James D. Marver

Julia K. Cheng Lucy Sun

Martha Sam Hertelendy Jane Chang Tom Timothy F. Kahn Judith F. Wilbur

Commissioners Absent: Edwin L. Berkowitz S. Timothy Kochis (phone)

Kathy Bissinger (phone) Chong-Moon Lee William Mathews Brooks Fred M. Levin

Eliza Cash Maura Morey (phone)
Carmen Colet Nanci Nishimura
Joan Danforth Anthony Sun
Virginia Foo Brenda Wright

Bill S. Kim

Foundation Trustees in Attendance:

Ellen Bauch Choongia "Maria" Kahng

Pehong Chen (phone) John Maa

Kapil Chhibber Kumar Malavalli Robert L. Duffy Kevin J. Martin Sung Jin Ingriselli Nicholas Unkovic

Anne Adams Kahn, Ex Officio Ken Wilcox

Also Present: Jay Xu Nancy Sackson

Joanne Chou Caryl Sherpa Mara Finerty Ami Tseng Rob Mintz Laura Hathhorn

Nada Perrone

Chair Akiko Yamazaki called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m., a quorum being present. Minutes from the September 20, 2016 meeting were approved. Transformation Project Committee Chair Tim Kahn gave a comprehensive report touching on important aspects that included regulatory process (discussions with SF Planning/Historical Preservation), a report that the TPC's approval of the full design scope would be shared at the March board meeting, and introduction of Construction Project Manager Caryl Sherpa whose addition to the team enabled phasing out the museum's owner's rep, making things more effective and less costly. With sincere appreciation, Akiko Yamazaki gave a brief campaign update reporting a new pledge, bringing the total campaign progress to \$56.3 million (plus \$5 million in matching funds). There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 4:22 pm to reconvene in Samsung Hall.