MINUTES ASIAN ART COMMISSION NOMINATING COMMITTEE 4th Floor Executive Conference Room June 13, 2011, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Attending:	Jane Chang Tom, Chair Edwin L. Berkowitz	Kathy Bissinger Sandy Calhoun
Absent:	Maura Morey (phone)	
Also Participating:	Anthony Sun Jay Xu	Amory Sharpe Laura Hathhorn

Chair Jane Tom called the meeting to order at 11:05 a.m., a quorum being present.

Minutes from the February 23, 2011 meeting were approved.

The committee approved Trustee Joan Danforth for nomination at the June 28, 2011 full board meeting to take the seat previously held by Vickie Johnston.

The committee continued its review of Commissioners whose terms expire in 2011, looking at their giving history as well as participation. Agreed upon for renewal at the September 27, 2011 annual meeting for an additional term as Commissioner were: Alexander D. Calhoun, Selina Gaw Cha, Kenneth G. Docter, C. N. Keating, Bill S. Kim, Chong-Moon Lee, Fred Levin, and Judith Wilbur. The committee pre-approved action regarding Asim Abdullah, pending outcome of communications with him regarding his intentions: either renewal of an additional term **or** expression of appreciation for nine years of service and contributions to the museum and welcome to the alumni society. If a positive response is not received by September 1, the committee approved his transition to the Alumni Society.

The committee discussed creating a future candidates pool for the Commission, noting it is important that Commissioners are able to attend meetings in person to count toward quorums and diversity.

A document was distributed as an FYI entitled: Working Draft Mission Statement for Asian Art Museum International Steering Committee (AAM ISC) April 27, 2011.

The meeting adjourned at 12:00 p.m.