MINUTES ASIAN ART COMMISSION NOMINATING COMMITTEE

4th Floor Executive Conference Room August 31, 2012, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Attending: Jane Chang Tom, Chair Sandy Calhoun

Edwin L. Berkowitz

Absent: Kathy Bissinger (phone) Maura Morey (phone)

Also Participating: Jay Xu Laura Hathhorn

Dori Sera Bailey

Chair Jane Tom called the meeting to order at 11:05 a.m., a quorum being present.

Minutes from the July 24, 2012 meeting were approved.

The committee nominated the following slate officers for an additional two year term for approval by the Commission at the September 18, 2012 annual meeting:

Anthony Sun Chair
Akiko Yamazaki Vice Chair
Judith F. Wilbur Vice Chair
Timothy F. Kahn Treasurer
Jane Chang Tom Secretary

The committee approved amending to prior action taken at the July 24, 2012 and unanimously agreed to recommend to the Commission that Carmen Colet be reinstated for an additional three year term ending 2015.

Upon notification that Commissioner Doris Shoong Lee had request not to be renewed for an additional term ending 2015, the committee retracted approval of Mrs. Lee for an additional three year term ending 2015, which had been approved at the July 24, 2012 meeting for recommendation to the Commission. The Committee expressed appreciation to Mrs. Lee for her years of service. It was noted that Mrs. Lee would continue to serve on the Foundation.

The committee approved Trustee Virginia Foo to fill the seat to be vacated by Doris Shoong Lee. Among the criteria considered in making its recommendations, the committee considered ethnic, gender and economic diversity.

Before adjournment, Mrs. Tom reminded the committee that the next board orientation would take place January 29, 2013, from 1:00-3:00 pm, in the Peterson Room, just prior to the 4:00 pm full board meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:25 a.m.